30 Day Challenge Day 3

Day 3: Describe how you deal with relationships.

 

Communicate, understand, be myself and forgive.  I do these things.

Communication is an important aspect of any relationship. Communicating clearly and effectively is the key to making a relationship work unfortunately men  and women communicate differently, as well as, individuals communicating differently.  I think if you can find your rhythm in terms of communication, you might be half way there in any relationship.

Understanding is simply being empathetic.  If you can understand where your partner is coming from you can settle a lot of things a lot faster.  Understanding a persons history and why they are the way they are is very important.  The thing is sometimes we get so caught up in trying to be right and prove points that we forget to be empathetic so I try to always be understanding.  However there are times when I fail miserably.

I am always myself and I never apologize for it. unfortunately not all people can deal with this but for those who can it will be one hell of a ride. I think that you can never be happy in a relationship if you try to change the essence of who you are; you have to Love you. Never being sorry for doing things that make you, you.

I believe in forgiveness,  and by forgiveness I don’t think you can ever truly think that whatever hurt you in the past will not happen again and be done by the same person.  I think you have to be accepting of a person’s shortcomings and thus forgive them.  You can’t carry the hurt with you.  To me forgiveness is about being able to look past the hurt and find the joy again. It’s about loving someone in spite of and letting go of the hope that the past could be any different.  The experience shapes us into the people we are meant to become so you have to able to forgive; even if the relationship falls apart.

Don't make me think I'm writing to myself...What do you think???

