BDSM: Why not jump on the band wagon.

While aimlessly surfing blog sites recently I’ve noticed a new trend; BDSM is a new movement.  For those of you who are new to this, as am I, BDSM means Bondage, Discipline, Submission and Masochism.  It is a way to describe your sexual preferences; and from the looks of this, these preferences fall within a wide range of activities from being tied up (who hasn’t done that), to being completely dominated and even humiliated.  In the wake of being bombarded with this new debate I begin to wonder if we are over sexed???  So much so, that regular sex doesn’t work for us anymore. Then I had an internal debate about what normal means, or perhaps we are so comfortable with our sexuality that we just put it all out there… I digress.

BDSM seems too trendy right now and while I am one for something rough here and there, as well as a firm grip on my hair; I hesitate to join this new movement. I guess the irony in that is a that I like to be dominated and I’ve detailed that here.  Trust me I am not knocking it because some of these activities seem basic,  even though some seem a little too far left for me. I guess my hesitation is that once you start to put labels on your behaviors you put yourself in this box.  I think my sexual desires, as with most people, vary from experience to experience and person to person.  If you declare that you like it only this way you close your self off to the possibilities. Another problem I have with it is, just because you have been tied up or spanked a few times doesn’t mean you are about that life; nor does reading  “50 shades of Grey” qualify you to be a Dom. I mean what are you going to do when you say this to a person and they pull out a whip, a ball gag and then lead you to their soundproof basement?

I would like to end this by saying I respect everyone’s decision to live and enjoy their lives however they choose, this is a judgment free zone.  I would just like for us to be more conscious of the boxes we are trying to jump into.  It does a disservice to the people who are actually serious about certain lifestyles when we jump on the bandwagon and spread ignorant perspectives.  Some things are not to be taken lightly and while this may not be one of them, just be sure that when you put yourself in a box… you actually fit in it.

2 thoughts on “BDSM: Why not jump on the band wagon.”

  1. I’ve been thinking the same thing…I can’t decide if my interest in BDSM is merely because it’s in the air or not. I don’t like definitions and boxes. I don’t really believe that sexuality is something that we can codify or really control, but then again the idea of knowing where I belong, finding my place in the whole deal appeals to me. Great post!

    Bisous,
    Dawn

  2. Great post, while I like to dominated or the one dominating, i refused to be in a box, I like what I like. LOL

Don't make me think I'm writing to myself...What do you think???

