30 Days of Honesty: Day 4

A blogger friend I’ve known for over five years told me she has been blogging anonymously all this time and most of what I know about her is her fantasy. My reaction to the news is…

Why??? As an anonymous blogger I think there is freedom in anonymity.  I can be completely honest with a bunch of strangers.  I would feel sorry for her.  Is she that unhappy with her reality? If so, she needs to do something about it.  I feel like there is more power in the truth than anywhere else, so you should blog your truth; even if that means you are blogging about how much you love jelly beans.  You can reach people when you identify with your  own experiences and when you are honest.  As a blogger I get the sense that people can tell when I am not being completely honest on my blog.

8 thoughts on “30 Days of Honesty: Day 4”

  1. Perhaps if she was unhappy at first it was the friendship with you that caused her to tell you the truth. I never thought about a person and their anonymity strictly because they were unhappy with who they really are.

  2. Another interesting view on the question. I suppose the reaction is always individual too – based on our own values and how we go about things. Thanks for sharing!

  3. I completely agree, because I feel the most free when I blog, because I can be me – NO HOLDS BAR! I won’t judge her, because I don’t know her reasons behind it, but maybe she should seek clarity for herself, or maybe she’s a writer that likes to paint a picture.

  4. Agreed! I feel like a person can only be one or the other. If you’re an anonymous blogger, then you’re not revealing details. If you’ve been telling people lies for 5 years, that means you’ve been revealing details, just not true ones. So that whole statement contradicts itself right there. But yeah, the whole point of anon. blogging is that you can be completely honest! I’d try to help him or her see that.

Don't make me think I'm writing to myself...What do you think???

